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The Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission 
Policies and Procedures 

 
 
Background 
 
In 2003, HB 285 amended the Georgia Erosion and Sediment Control Act of 1975, which created 
the mandatory certification program for all individuals involved in land disturbing activities in 
Georgia.  The Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission (GSWCC), in consultation with 
EPD and the Governor appointed Stakeholder Advisory Board, was charged with developing and 
implementing this program.    HB 285 required individuals to obtain their certifications by December 
31, 2006. 
 
On May 14, 2007, Governor Perdue, signed HB 463 into law.  HB 463 amended the Georgia 
Erosion and Sediment Control Act of 1975.   HB 463 required those individuals involved in land 
disturbing activities working in a subcontractor capacity to attend a two hour awareness seminar 
instead of the Level IA Fundamentals.  
 
With the passage of HB 463, GSWCC, in consultation with the Stakeholder Advisory Board 
developed the Subcontractor Awareness Seminar.  The Subcontractor Awareness Seminar 
(Certified Subcontractor) is a two hour training course with no exam for individuals working in a 
subcontractor capacity.   

Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission’s Education and Certification Courses 

Level IA Fundamentals  

The course is designed for primary, secondary, tertiary permittees, site superintendents, monitoring 
consultations, Builders and developers.  It is a one day training with exam.  The course covers 
topics such as, GESA, NPDES, stream buffers as well as Vegetative and Structural BMPs. 

Requirements for Level IA Certification “Certified Personnel" 
• Must register for and attend a Conservation Commission approved and posted 

“Fundamentals Seminar" (Level IA) 
• Must submit the appropriate certification application 
• Take and receive a passing score of 70% on the Level IA certification exam. 

 
Exam Only Sessions 

• Must register for a Soil and Water Conservation Commission Exam Only Session. 
• Provide Proof of Attendance from a Conservation Commission  "NPDES Qualified Personnel    

Workshop", "Fundamentals of Erosion and Sediment Control Workshop" another 
Conservation Commission and Division approved "qualified personnel" course or equivalent  
Conservation Commission approved course within 3 years prior to exam date. 

• Submit the appropriate certification application 
• Take and receive a passing score of 70% on a Level IA certification exam 
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Level IB Advanced Fundamentals 

The course is designed for regulatory inspectors and those contracted to perform regulatory duties.  
It is a two-day training with exam.  The course covers topics such as, GESA, NPDES, 
responsibilities of the inspector, elements of an effective erosion and sediment control program as 
well as Vegetative and Structural BMPs. 

Requirements for Level IB Certification "Certified Inspector" 
• Must have completed 60 days work experience in the field of erosion and sediment control.    
• In lieu of 60 days work experience, you may obtain a Level IA Certification. 
• Must register for and attend a Conservation Commission approved and posted "Advanced 

Fundamentals" Seminar. 
• Submit the appropriate certification application 
• Take and receive a passing score of 70% on a Level IB certification exam. 

 
Exam Only Sessions 

• Must have completed 60 days work experience in the field of erosion and sediment control. 
• In lieu of 60 days work experience, you may obtain a Level IA Certification. 
• Must register for a Soil and Water Conservation Commission Exam Only Session. 
• Provide Proof of Attendance from a Conservation Commission "Advanced  Fundamentals of 

Erosion and Sediment Control Workshop" or equivalent Conservation Commission approved 
course within 3 years prior to exam date. 

• Submit the appropriate certification application 
• Take and receive a passing score of 70% on a Level IB certification exam. 

Level II Introduction to Design  

The course is designed for design professionals and plan reviewers.  It is a two-day course with 
exam.  The course covers topics such as, GESA, NPDES, stream buffers, elements of an effective 
erosion and sediment pollution control plan, the plan review process and issues with stormwater. 

Eligibility Requirements for Design Professionals 
• Proved proof of Georgia professional licensure in the field of engineering, architecture, 

landscape architecture, forestry, geology, land surveying or CPESC.  
 
Eligibility Requirements for Plan Reviewers 

• Have at least 6 months work experience in the field of erosion and sediment control 
• In lieu of 6 months work experience, an individual may obtain a Level IB certification 

  
Requirements for Level II Introduction to Design "Certified Design Professional" "Certified 
Plan Reviewer" 

• Must register for and attend a Conservation Commission approved and posted "Introduction    
to Design Seminar" (Level II). 

• Submit the appropriate application 
• Take and receive a passing score of 70% on a Level II certification exam. 
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Exam Only Sessions 
• Must meet eligibility requirements for either Design Professional or Plan Reviewer.  
• Must register for a Soil and Water Conservation Commission Exam Only Session. 
• Provide Proof of Attendance from a Conservation Commission "Design of Vegetative 

Measures and Structural Practices for Erosion and Sediment Control Workshop" or 
equivalent Conservation Commission approved course within 3 years prior to exam date. 

• Submit the appropriate certification application. 
• Take and receive a passing score of 70% on a Level II certification exam. 

Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Certification Exams 

Applications and Answer Sheet   

Individuals will receive the appropriate application and answer sheet right before taking the exam.  
The exam proctor will be responsible for distributing the applications and answer sheets.  The 
proctor will also be responsible for giving instruction on completing the application and answer 
sheet via the exam procedures PowerPoint presentation. 
 

Proof of Attendance Form 

The Proof of Attendance form has been developed by GSWCC.  Individuals will receive a Proof of 
Attendance form if: 

• the individual attends a certification course and chooses not to sit for the certification exam.  
In which case the course trainer or course proctor will issue a Proof of Attendance form.  At 
the time of issuance both parties must sign the form. 

OR 

• the individual attends a certification course, takes the exam but fails to obtain a passing 
score of 70% or higher.  In which case GSWCC will send a letter informing the individual 
that they did not pass along with a Proof of Attendance form.  Individuals must retake the 
exam within one calendar year from the date of the initial exam. 

Individuals should submit the Proof of Attendance form at the time of an exam only session. 

 Certification Exams 

All certification exams, except for Trainer Level I and Trainer Level II, have a one hour time limit 
and consist of 50 questions.  The exam is open course notebook, which includes the course 
notebook and any notes that were taken during the course.  Individuals may not use any other 
reference material which includes, but not limited to the Field Manual for Erosion Control in 
Georgia, Manual for Erosion and Sediment Control in Georgia or any other material not part of the 
course notebook. 
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Before, during and until the exam has been turned in, individuals must turn off cell phones, pagers 
and electronic devices.  If an individual uses one of these devices at any of the specified times, 
their exams will not be scored and that individual will receive a zero. 

Individuals may not talk once the exam has been distributed, if an individual has a question or is 
in need of assistance, they must raise their hand and only speak to the exam proctor.  If an 
individual speaks to another attendee, their exam(s) will not be scored and the individual(s) will 
receive a zero. 

Individuals may not leave the exam room until the exam has been completed and turned in.  If an 
individual leaves the room before the exam has been completed and turned in the individual’s 
exam will not be score and that the individual will receive a zero. 

Individuals must turn the exam booklet, exam answer sheet and application to the exam proctor, 
at which time the individual must present a government issued photo ID (no copies or non-
government IDs will be accepted) If an individual cannot present a government issued ID or does 
not turn in the specified documents, their exam will not be scored and the individual will receive a 
zero.  Individuals unable to present a government issued photo ID should ask the proctor for a 
Proof of Attendance form. 

Exam Scores 

Exam scores will be posted on the GSWCC’s website at www.gaswcc.georgia.gov approximately 
two weeks after the exam date.  To access exam score via website, go to 
www.gaswcc.georgia.gov, under How Do I, click Check Exam Scores or Verify Current 
Certification, from that page, under the appropriate level select course location and date. Exams 
scores are posted by an individuals ID number, which is the individuals date of birth and last four 
digits of their Social Security Number.   

Certification Cards  

Individuals that obtain a passing score of 70% or higher on a Level IA, IB or II certification, will 
receive a certification card in the mail.  According to the Rules, GSWCC has 60 days to issue 
certification cards, however individuals should receive their certification card within two weeks of 
exam date.   Certification cards will contain the certified individual’s name, certification level, 
certification number as well as the issued and expiration date.  Certification cards are valid for 3 
years.    

When completing the application, individuals must designate what mailing address they would like 
all GSWCC correspondence sent to.  Certification cards will be mailed to the preferred mailing 
address.   

Replacement Certification Cards 

In the event an individual does not receive, loses or damages their certification card, they may 
submit a written request to the GSWCC Education and Certification Dept, requesting a 
replacement card.  Certification cards will be replaced at no charge. 
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 Failure to Obtain a Passing Score on the Certification Exam 

Individuals that do not pass the initial certification exam may retake the exam at an Exam Only 
Session.  If the individual fails to receive obtain a passing score of the certification exam for a 
second time, they must retake the course before taking the exam again. 

Exam Only Sessions 

Individuals may attend an Exam Only Session if they attended a certification course, but did not 
take the exam or attended a certification course and failed the exam. 

At the Exam Only Session individuals will receive instruction on completing the application and 
answer sheet.  At no time throughout the Exam Only Session will individuals will receive 
instruction on the course material.  

Individuals should bring with them their course notebook, Proof of Attendance form and 
government issued photo ID. 

Exam Only Sessions may be administered by GSWCC, GSWCC Approved Trainers and GSWCC 
Approved Proctors. 

Denial of Certification  

There are certain situations in which an individual will be denied certification although they 
obtained a passing score on the certification exam.  These situations include but are not limited 
to: 

• Failure to show proof of attendance at the appropriate certification course. 
• Failure to provide proof of work experience (Level IB and Level II) 
• Failure to provide proof of GA licensure (Level II)  It is the individual’s responsibility to 

notify GSWCC  when the GA licensure has been obtained 
• GA licensure has lapsed, been revoked, or expired.  It is the individual’s responsibility to 

notify GSWCC  when the licensure has been reinstated 
• Submitting false information on application 
• Failure to meet prerequisites (Level IB and Level II) 

Certifications 

If an individual is Level IB or Level II certified, he or she is not required to obtain a Level IA 
certification.  If an individual needs both a Level IB and Level II certification, he or she may take 
the Level II course, obtain a passing score on the certification exam and then attend an Exam 
Only session for Level IB. 

Subcontractor Awareness Seminar 
 
The Subcontractor Awareness Seminar is designed for individuals working in a subcontractor 
capacity for primary, secondary or tertiary permittees.  This is a two hour course with no exam and 
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will cover topics such as, the basics of erosion and sedimentation, what is erosion and sediment 
control and why it is important, E&S laws and the most common Best Management Practices.    
 
Subcontractor Awareness Seminars will be conducted by GSWCC and GSWCC Approved Level I 
Trainers. 
 
It is important to note that a subcontractor certification does NOT qualify an individual to perform the 
duties of a "qualified" or "certified  person/personnel.  If an individual is performing such duties, a 
Level IA certification is required. 
 
If an individual is working in a subcontractor capacity and possess a Level IA certification, that 
individual is not required to take the Subcontractor Awareness Seminar. 
 
If an individual is working in a subcontractor capacity and has attended a Level IA course but does 
not possess a Level IA certification, that person will not be required  to take the Subcontractor 
Awareness Seminar. However, they must complete and submit a Subcontractor Awareness 
application along with a Proof of Attendance form to receive a Subcontractor card.   
 
GSWCC will only provide proof of attendance forms for courses held by GSWCC. Individuals 
attending a Subcontractor Seminar given by a GSWCC approved trainer must obtain the Proof of 
Attendance form from the GSWCC approved trainer course instructor. 
 
Requirements for Subcontractor Awareness – Certified Subcontractor 

• Attend a GSWCC approved Subcontractor Awareness Seminar 
• Complete and submit a Subcontractor Awareness Seminar application 
• Complete and submit a Subcontractor Awareness Seminar enrollment form 

  
Application and Enrollment Forms 
 
Individuals that attend a Subcontractor Awareness Seminar will receive the application and 
enrollment form at the end of the course.  The course instructor will distribute the forms and give 
instructions on how to complete the forms via a PowerPoint presentation provided by GSWCC.  
 
When a individual submits their forms, the course instructor will ask to see the individual’s 
government issued photo ID.  If an individual cannot present a government issued ID, the 
application will not be accepted. 
 
Subcontractor Certification Cards 

Individuals will receive their certification cards approximately two – three weeks from the date 
they took the course.  Subcontractor certification cards will contain the certified individual’s name, 
certification number as well as the issued and expiration date.  Certification cards are valid for 3 
years.    

When completing the application, individuals must designate what mailing address they would like 
all GSWCC correspondence sent to.  Subcontractor certification cards will be mailed to the 
preferred mailing address.   
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If an individual is Level 1A, 1B, or II certified and wishes to obtain a Subcontractor Awareness card, 
he or she must first attend a Subcontractor Awareness course.  Subcontractor cards will not be 
issued to individuals with other certifications unless they attend a Subcontractor Awareness course. 

Becoming A GSWCC Approved Trainer  

GSWCC currently allows qualified individuals to become GSWCC Approved Trainers.  GSWCC 
Approved Trainers will be given the GSWCC course material and be able to hold certification 
courses and administer certification exams. 

There are two levels of GSWCC Approved Trainers.  Individuals certified as a GSWCC Approved 
Trainer Level I may give instruction on Level IA Fundamentals, Level IB Advanced Fundamentals, 
Subcontractor Awareness and GSWCC re-certification courses for Level IA and IB.   Individuals 
certified as a GSWCC Approved Trainer Level II may give instruction on Level II Introduction to 
Design and GSWCC re-certification course for Level II 

Approved Trainer Level I Eligibility Requirements: 

1. Education and Experience: 
• Education: Four-year college degree 
• Experience: Five years in the field of erosion and sediment control 

OR 
• Experience Only: Ten years total experience in erosion and sediment  control 

2. Approval by Conservation Commission and Stakeholder Advisory Board 
3. Successful completion of Level I Trainer and Instructor Seminar 

Approved Trainer Level II Eligibility Requirements 

1. Education and experience: 
• Education: Four-year college degree in engineering or natural  sciences 
• Experience: Five years in the field of erosion and sediment control 

OR 
• Licensure: In the field of engineering, architecture, landscape  architecture, forestry, 

geology or land surveying or CPESC 
• Experience: Ten years of experience in the field of erosion and sediment control 

2. Approval by Conservation Commission and Stakeholder Advisory Board 
3. Successful completion of Level II Trainer and Instructor Seminar 

 
Approved Trainer Application Process 
 
Individuals interested in becoming a GSWCC Approved Trainer must submit appropriate application 
and current resume 60 days prior to scheduled course date (incomplete applications will be returned 
to applicant).  Applications are available at www.gaswcc.georgia.gov on the Trainer Page.   All 
applications are reviewed by GSWCC staff to determine eligibility for course attendance. Notification 
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will be sent within 30 days of receipt of application. If an application is denied a written appeals must 
be received within 10 days.   
 
Individuals wishing to obtain status as a Level I and Level II Trainer must complete and submit both 
applications.  If approved, individual must register for and attend the Trainer Level I and Trainer 
Level II courses, and obtain a passing score on both trainer exams. 
 
Trainer Certification Exams 
 
The Trainer Level I and Trainer Level II exams are both 100 questions with a two hour time limit.  
Individuals must obtain a passing rate of 85% to be eligible for GSWCC Board and Stakeholder 
Advisory Board approval. 

The exam is open course notebook, which includes the trainer course material and any notes that 
were taken during the course.  GSWCC will provide each attendee with course notebooks that 
may be used during the exam. Trainer I attendees will receive the IA and IB course notebook and 
Trainer II attendees will receive the Level II course notebook. Individuals may not use any other 
reference material which includes, but not limited to the Field Manual for Erosion Control in 
Georgia, Manual for Erosion and Sediment Control in Georgia or any other material not part of the 
course notebooks. 

Before, during and until the exam has been turned in, individuals must turn off cell phones, pagers 
and electronic devices.  If an individual uses one of these devices at any of the specified times, 
their exams will not be scored and that individual will receive a zero. 

Individuals may not talk once the exam has been distributed, if an individual has a question or is 
in need of assistance, they must raise their hand and only speak to the exam proctor.  If an 
individual speaks to another attendee, their exams will not be scored and the individual(s) will 
receive a zero. 

Individuals may not leave the exam room until the exam has been completed and turned in.  If an 
individual leaves the room before the exam has been completed and turned in the individual’s 
exam will not be score and that the individual will receive a zero. 

Individuals must turn in the exam booklet and answer sheet to the exam proctor, at which time the 
individual must present a government issued photo ID (no copies or non-government IDs will be 
accepted) If an individual cannot present a government issued ID or does not turn in the specified 
documents, their exam will not be scored and the individual will receive a zero.  Individuals unable 
to present a government issued photo ID should ask the proctor for a Proof of Attendance form. 

Exam Scores 

Exam scores will be posted on the GSWCC’s website at www.gaswcc.georgia.gov approximately 
two weeks after the exam date.  To access exam score via website, go to 
www.gaswcc.georgia.gov, under How Do I, click Check Exam Scores or Verify Current 
Certification, from that page, under the appropriate level select course location and date. Exams 
scores are posted by an individuals ID number, which is the individuals date of birth and last four 
digits of their Social Security Number.   
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GSWCC Board and Stakeholder Advisory Board Approval 
 
Once an individual obtains a passing score on the trainer certification exam, their name along with a 
brief biography are submitted to the Stakeholder Advisory Board and GSWCC Board for approval.  
Once approved GSWCC will assign a Trainer ID number and issue a trainer certification card. 
 
Revocation of Trainer Status 
GSWCC reserves the right to revoke approved trainer status.  Trainer status may revoked in the 
following situations, but not limited to: 

• Certification obtained through fraud        
• Violation of rules  
•  Failure to demonstrate reasonable care, judgment or application of knowledge and    

ability in performance of duties        
• Misleading representation during course       
• Unprofessional or immoral behavior relating to certification     
• Aiding any uncertified person in practicing as a certified person    
• Mental incompetence           
• Use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, etc that would affect performance 

 
If a trainer is being considered for revocation GSWCC will notify the individual of the date and time 
the revocation will be discussed and for what reason. The individual may appear before GSWCC in 
his/her own defense. 
 

Trainer Procedures for Scheduling and Holding a Certification Course 

Before a certification course the approved trainer must notify GSWCC of the scheduled course at 
least 30 days prior to the date of the course. * Course notification must be given using the 
Notification of Scheduled Education and Certification Courses for Approved Trainers form. 
Trainers must provide the following information: 

• Course name (Level 1A, 1B or II)    
• Course date      
• Maximum number of attendees     
• Course location 
• Name and number of designated course contact  
• Course Proctor 

Completed Course Notification form must be mailed, emailed, or faxed to: 
Georgia Soil & Water Conservation Commission 

Education and Certification Program 
PO Box 1665 

Athens GA  30603-1665 
FAX: (706)542-4242 

Any changes or cancellations of courses must be submitted in writing to GSWCC at least 10 days 
prior to the date of the course.  Upon receiving the course notification form the information will be 
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entered into the Education and Certification database and posted on GSWCC website under the 
appropriate certification level.   

Shipping of Exams and Exam Materials 

Approximately ten days prior to the schedule course date, GSWCC will create the certification 
exam and prepare for shipping.  GSWCC will ship the requested number of exams and 
application/answer sheets along with a Chain of Custody Form and Proof of Attendance forms. 
GSWCC will ship the application/enrollment forms using the instructor’s UPS orFedEx account 
number. 

Exam Overage Fees 

GSWCC will allow for five unused exams to be returned free of charge.  GSWCC will charge 
trainers $1.20 per copy for each unused exam over the five unused limit. Trainers will be billed 
periodically for their exam overages. 

Trainer Responsibilities 
• Trainers are responsible for printing a course notebook for each participant.  (See Printing 

Requirements) 
• Trainers must make sure the agenda, all course materials, and PowerPoint presentations are 

followed in strict adherence to the ones adopted by GSWCC 
• Trainers may not substitute any material on the agenda. Any additional information not on the 

agenda must be covered after the exam has been completed and attendance must be made 
optional. 

• Trainers may proctor their own courses or they may choose an approved proctor from the list 
on the GSWCC website. 

 
Printing Requirements for Certification Course Notebooks 

 
Level IA Course notebooks must: 

1. be in a 1 ½” or larger  white binder. 
2. be a copy of the Level IA notebook provided by GSWCC, at no time should information be 

removed or added. 
3. have each section tabbed. 
4. use the notebook cover provided by GSWCC with instructor information personalized. 

 
Level IB course notebook must: 

1. be in a 2” or larger white binder. 
2. be a copy of the Level IB notebook provided by GSWCC, at no time should information be 

removed or added. 
3. have each section tabbed. 
4. use the notebook cover provided by the GSWCC with instructor information personalized. 
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Level II course notebook must: 
1. be in a 1 ½” white binder or larger. 
2. be a copy of the Level II notebook provided by GSWCC, at no time should information be 

removed or added. 
3. have each section tabbed. 
4. use the notebook cover provided by the GSWCC with instructor information personalized. 
 

The Subcontractor Awareness Seminar 
 
The procedures a trainer must follow for holding a Subcontractor Awareness Seminar are a little 
different because GSWCC does not have to create an exam.  Trainers must still notify GSWCC 
when planning to hold a Subcontractor Awareness Seminar.  GSWCC recommends instructors 
notify GSWCC at least 10 days prior to hosting a course.   
 
Subcontractor Applications/Enrollment Forms 
GSWCC will ship the application/enrollment forms using the instructor’s UPS or FedEx account 
number, please keep in mind the shipping charges will be based on the amount of notice given to 
GSWCC.  Instructors may keep any unused Scantron application/enrollment forms for upcoming 
courses.   
 
Trainers must have attendees complete an application/enrollment form.   Instructors must use the 
Application/enrollment Form Instruction PowerPoint presentation provided by GSWCC. 
 
Instructors must check for government issued photo IDs when attendees submit forms. Instructors 
cannot accept photo copies of IDs or IDs issued by a non-government entity. 
 
Extra Subcontractor Applications/Enrollment Forms 
 
Instructors must notify GSWCC of upcoming subcontractor awareness courses regardless if they 
need forms or not. If instructors have enough forms they should call GSWCC and obtain a course 
ID number from the Education and Certification Dept. The course ID number must be included when 
forms are sent back to GSWCC 
 
Subcontractor Awareness Seminar Course Notebook 
 
Instructors must provide each attendee with a Subcontractor notebook.  GSWCC will provide each 
instructor with a CD with a ready to print PDF file of the course notebook.  There are not specific 
printing requirements for the course notebook, however, it must be legible and bound.  
 
 
Conducting a Subcontractor Awareness Seminar 
 
Trainers must use the GSWCC issued PowerPoint Subcontractor Awareness Seminar presentation. 
There is no official agenda for the course and at any point during the course trainers may take a 
break, however the course cannot exceed two hours. 
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After the Subcontractor Awareness Seminar 
 

After the course instructors must: 
• Collect application/enrollment forms and check photo IDs. 
• Complete the Chain of Custody form provided by GSWCC. 
• Secure all application/enrollment forms and Chain of Custody form and ship back to 

GSWCC. 
• Must be shipped back within 48 hours of course and sent with some form of tracking. 

 
 
Chain of Custody Forms for Subcontractor Awareness Seminar  
 
Chain of Custody forms will be provided by GSWCC. If instructor does not have a Chain of Custody 
form because they are using leftover application/enrollment forms, they must use the Subcontractor 
Chain of Custody form.  Trainers may contact the Education and Certification Dept and have the 
form emailed. 
 

GSWCC Approved Proctor 

GSWCC has established the Proctor Program.  Individuals that become GSWCC approved proctors 
may proctor certification exams for GSWCC approved trainers.  Individuals interested in becoming a 
GSWCC approved proctor must meet the following requirements: 

1. At least 18 years of age 
2. Must be a resident of Georgia 
3. Must provide 3 personal references 
4. Must submit a completed Proctor Application and Proctor Affidavit 
5. Must attend an “Approved Proctor Training Session” hosted by the Georgia Soil and Water 

Conservation Commission 
6. An individual may not proctor the exam of a: 

 Relative: Spouse, child, (including step-children), siblings (including step-siblings), 
parents (including step-parents) or any relative, either by blood or marriage, whether 
living in the employee’s household or not. 

 Business Associate: Direct employee or supervisor 
7. An individual may not proctor for an exam they will need to take. 

 
OR 

      1.  Hold current GSWCC Approved Trainer certification. 
 

How to Become a Third Party Approved Proctor 
 
An individual that meets the above requirements and would like to become a GSWCC Approved 
Proctor must register for an “Approved Proctor Training Session” with GSWCC After attending the 
training session, the individual will be asked to complete a Proctor Application including basic 
contact information and three personal references and sign the Proctor Affidavit.  GSWCC will 
review the application for compliance and will post the individual’s name and contact information will 
be added to the “Approved Proctor List” and will be posted on the GSWCC website. 
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Individuals that hold a current GSWCC Approved Trainer certification are not required to attend a 
proctor training session.   A GSWCC Approved Trainer is automatically approved as a proctor. 
 
Arranging for a Proctor 
An approved instructor may proctor their own exam or contact an approved proctor and schedule 
their services for an examination.  The approved instructor will be responsible for paying any 
expenses related to the proctor and the administration of the exam including postage to return the 
exam.  The approved instructor shall notify GSWCC at least 30 days prior to the examination date.  
The approved instructor will provide the following information to the Conservation Commission: 

 Examination date, time and location 
 Maximum estimated number in attendance 
 Name of scheduled proctor  

 
Proctor Responsibilities  
 
Exam Security 
Exams used in the certification program are secure, proprietary instruments published by the 
Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission.  Any disclosure or dissemination of actual exam 
items to any person will be considered a violation and may severely undermine the value of the 
exam and adversely affect the validity of exam results.  The confidentiality of exam questions and 
answers is paramount in maintaining the integrity and validity of the exam.  Therefore, the 
Conservation Commission and its approved proctors must take every step to assure the security of 
the exam instruments. 

 
When an exam has been scheduled by an approved instructor, the Conservation Commission will 
mail an examination package to the identified approved proctor at least three (3) business days 
prior to the examination date.  The examination package may be sent to either the proctor’s home 
or business address. 

 
It is essential that all exam materials remain secure.  That is, when the materials are not being used 
for testing, those materials should be kept in a secured location.  Proctors may not open the 
examination package prior to administering the exam.   

 
Examination Procedures 
Examination procedures must be reviewed before the examination may begin.  Approved proctors 
must use the PowerPoint presentation developed by the Conservation Commission to explain 
examination procedures. 

 
Prior to beginning the examination procedures, the proctor should review the seating arrangement, 
making sure that spacing between individuals prevents them from sharing answers.  The proctor 
should help provide an adequate testing environment that is free from interruption.  Proctors must 
request that cell phones, pagers, PDAs, etc. are turned off and removed from tables/desks. 

Proctors must be completely prepared and familiar with the exam directions before entering any 
examination session.  Proctors should anticipate and be ready to answer questions about the exam 
procedures but at no time may a proctor comment on examination content.  When reading exam 
directions aloud, proctors must ensure that all students understand what is expected of them.  
Students must be given the opportunity to ask questions and understand how to mark their answers 
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before they begin taking the exam.  However, proctors MUST NOT answer questions about specific 
exam items.  They may only repeat the initial instructions about item format, scoring rules and 
timing.  They may also help students with test-taking mechanics but be careful not to inadvertently 
give clues that indicate the correct answer or help eliminate some answer choices. 

The proctor must ensure that adequate and complete sets of materials have been distributed to all 
students.  Students may use course materials to assist them during the examination but cannot be 
aided by any electronic device such as cell phones, PDAs, calculators or any additional written 
material. 

 
Proctors must carefully monitor the testing session to ensure that all students have the opportunity 
to succeed.  It is not acceptable for test administrators to leave the room, visit with another person, 
read, or ignore activities in the testing session. 
 
When an individual completes the exam the Proctor must: 

1. Ask the individual for a government issued photo ID .Forms of identification include driver’s 
license, passport, city or state work ID.  The proctor must verify name on the ID matches the 
name on the application 

2. Ensure the individual has completed the answer sheet properly which includes bubbling in the 
name, ID number, exam version and all exam answers. 

3. Ensure the application has been completed and signed 
4. Ensure the individual has turned in the application, answer sheet and exam booklet. 

 
When all exams have been turned in, the proctor must account for all exam materials and sign the 
Examination Affidavit.   

Examination Procedures 

When administered by a trainer or by an approved proctor, the following policies and 
procedures are to be followed when administering the certification exam. 

Examination procedures must be reviewed before the examination may begin.  Approved proctors 
must use the PowerPoint presentation developed by the Conservation Commission to explain 
examination procedures. 
 
Prior to beginning the examination procedures, the proctor should review the seating arrangement, 
making sure that spacing between individuals prevents them from sharing answers.  The proctor 
should help provide an adequate testing environment that is free from interruption.  Proctors must 
request that cell phones, pagers, PDAs, etc. are turned off and removed from tables/desks. 

Proctors must be completely prepared and familiar with the exam directions before entering any 
examination session.  Proctors should anticipate and be ready to answer questions about the exam 
procedures but at no time may a proctor comment on examination content.  When reading exam 
directions aloud, proctors must ensure that all students understand what is expected of them.  
Students must be given the opportunity to ask questions and understand how to mark their answers 
before they begin taking the test.  However, proctors MUST NOT answer questions about specific 
test items.  They may only repeat the initial instructions about item format, scoring rules and timing.  
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They may also help students with test-taking mechanics but be careful not to inadvertently give 
clues that indicate the correct answer or help eliminate some answer choices. 

The proctor must ensure that adequate and complete sets of materials have been distributed to all 
students.  Students may use course materials to assist them during the examination but cannot be 
aided by any electronic device such as cell phones, PDAs, calculators or any additional written 
material. 
 
Proctors must carefully monitor the testing session to ensure that all students have the opportunity 
to succeed.  It is not acceptable for test administrators to leave the room, visit with another person, 
read, or ignore activities in the testing session. 
 
When the examination is completed, the proctor must collect an application for certification, a 
completed examination sheet, an exam booklet, and a course evaluation from each participant.  The 
proctor must account for all test materials and sign the Examination Affidavit.   
 
The proctor must return the completed examination package including all collected materials by mail 
to the Conservation Commission.  The package should be postmarked no more than 48 hours after 
the completion of the exam session.  Examination packages must be sent using a tracking device 
such as United State Postal Service “Return Receipt Required” or similar shipping with tracking 
method. 
 

 

GSWCC Re-certification Program 
 

GSWCC in consultation with the Stakeholder Advisory Board have established the following 
guidelines for re-certification: 

• Individuals will have the option of attending a GSWCC four hour course or third party 
approved courses totaling four hours of instruction.  There will not be an examination 
required for re- certification.   

• GSWCC will offer a four hour continuing education course for Level IA Fundamentals, 
Level IB Advanced Fundamentals and Level II Introduction to Design.  

• GSWCC courses will be given by GSWCC and GSWCC approved trainers. 
• GSWCC will allow third parties to develop training courses that may be used to satisfy 

continuing education requirements.   

Policies and Procedures for Third Party Sponsors of Re-certification Courses 

The following procedures must be followed by continuing education course sponsors in order to 
obtain approval and credit hours from GSWCC: 

ADVANCE NOTICE 

Applications for continuing education courses must be completed and submitted at least 45 days 
prior to the commencement of the course to allow sufficient time for review, approval, and return 
of approval documents to the sponsor. Course applications received less than 45 days before the 
course date will NOT be approved. Course applications are processed in the order they are 
received. 
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SUBMITTING FOR APPROVAL 

The course sponsor must submit the Application for Continuing Education Course Approval to the 
Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission, Education and Certification Program, PO Box 
1665, Athens, GA 30603. The request for course approval must include: 

• A fully completed Application for Continuing Education Course Approval 
• A detailed course description with time of training in each subject. Applications without     

adequate subject detail will be returned. 
• A program agenda that includes start/stop times for all topics and breaks. 

The start and stop times (e.g. 10:00-10:30) for each subject or speaker as well as any breaks   
or meals must be shown. If the course or activity involves a tour, you must provide an 
itinerary which includes travel stops and times. 

• Copies of all materials that will be used during the course 
• A draft copy of the course announcement if one is to be sent to prospective attendees. The 

announcement must contain the following statement verbatim: 

“(Course Title) meets the criteria for a Level (IA, IB or II) continuing education course for the Georgia Soil 
and Water Conservation Commission and is approved for ________ hour(s) of instruction.” 

Incomplete applications will not be reviewed and will be returned to the course sponsor. 

CRITERIA USED FOR EVALUATING COURSE OFFERINGS 

Applications for continuing education courses submitted for credit hours will be evaluated on the 
basis of subject matter presented and time devoted to the topic. In general, discussions relating to 
all aspect of erosion and sediment control and land disturbing activities may be considered for 
approval of credit hours. Examples of acceptable topics include but are not limited to the 
following: 

• Monitoring/Sampling  
• NPDES General Permit/GESA  
• BMP Installation  
• Structural and/or Vegetative BMPs  
• Erosion, Sediment and Pollution Control Plans  
• Site Inspections  

The course must meet the following requirements: 

1. Minimum of 1 hour of instruction (excluding breaks)  
2. Include time to distribute and review GSWCC program updates (Will be provided by 

GSWCC)   
3. Course must be taught by a GSWCC approved trainer   

APPROVAL PROCESS 

The course outline and instructor qualifications will be reviewed by the GSWCC Education and 
Certification Program (E&C Program) and appropriate credit hours will be assigned. The course 
sponsor will receive a Notice of Course Approval listing the re-certification credit hour(s). 
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Continuing Education credit hour(s) will be assigned on a basis of 1.0 credit per hour of actual 
course instruction time with a maximum of 4 credit hours.  A GSWCC continuing education course 
code will be assigned for each course. This GSWCC continuing education course code is to be 
listed on the course certificate which is issued to candidates attending the course for continuing 
education credit hours.    

Individuals that attend courses held prior to GSWCC approval will not be eligible for continuing 
education credit hours. 

 
COURSE SPONSOR RESPONSIBILITIES 

At least 10 days prior to the continuing education course, the sponsor must submit a continuing 
education course notification form to GSWCC by fax or email. Forms are available on the 
GSWCC website.  

At the completion of the course, the trainer must require all individuals in attendance to record 
their ID number (DOB and last 4 digits of their Social Security number) and print and sign their 
name on the Continuing Education Training Roster.  The trainer will also be required to complete 
the Scantron form provided by the E&C Program.   Original roster and Scantron forms for each 
day of training must be submitted to the E&C Program within 7 days of course completion. Failure 
to follow this procedure may result in rejection of training certificates issued at the course. The 
E&C Program will send both the training roster and Scantron forms to the trainer. 

The trainer must provide and issue to each individual attending the course for continuing 
education credit hours a certificate of proof of attendance which lists the following information: 

• Name and Certification ID Number of certified individual;  
• Name, place and date of the training course  
• Continuing Education course code assigned by GSWCC (code will be listed on the GSWCC             

website) 
• Number of credits assigned by GSWCC  
• Signature of the sponsor, in ink.  

Appropriate controls must be used to ensure that only attendees who sit for a course receive a 
certificate and that the certificate awards credit only for the time the attendee actually attended in 
the course. 

Trainers will be provided with change of address forms for individuals who need their cards issued 
to an address other than the one provided to GSWCC at the time of initial certification. 

MONITORING OF CERTIFICATION TRAINING COURSES 

The Education and Certification Program reserves the right to monitor continuing education 
courses for course content, time allocated to topics, etc. As a condition of course approval, 
sponsors must grant permission for the E&C Program staff to monitor any approved course and 
waive registration fees for staff monitors. If the actual course is found to deviate significantly from 
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the approved course, the E&C Program staff person may recommend credit hours be changed to 
reflect the deviation or invalidate the course if necessary. 

A list of all approved continuing education courses will be posted on the GSWCC website. 

 Individuals Seeking Re-certification: 

   There will be no exam for re-certification.  To become re-certified, individuals must attend a course 
or courses totaling four hours of continuing education. Individuals must attend four hours of 
continuing education for every certification they wish to renew.  Example: If an individual is a 
Certified Inspector and Certified Plan Reviewer they would need to take 4 hour approved Level IB 
course and a 4 hour approved Level II course for a total of 8 hours of continuing education. 
Individuals may check the GSWCC’s website at www.gaswcc.georgia.gov for a list of approved 
continuing education courses.  

All approved continuing education courses are required to print the following statement on all 
advertisements and references: 
(Course Title) meets the criteria for a Level ___________continuing education course for the Georgia Soil 
and Water Conservation Commission and is approved for ________ hour(s) of instruction.  

Individuals can begin taking continuing education courses 1 year before their certification expires.  
Any course or courses taken prior to the 1 year mark will not be accepted.  

Individuals with 4 or more hours will receive a new certification card in the mail approximately two 
weeks before their initial certification expires.  

Those individuals that fail to obtain at least 4 hours of continuing education prior to their expiration 
date will have a 90 day grace period to attend a continuing education course. Failure to attend a 
continuing education course after the 90 day grace period will require the individual to attend the full 
course and pass the exam. 

Please note that the 90 day grace period does not apply to your certification status.  If an individual 
allows their certification to expire, they will be in noncompliance with the State Law and are subject 
to any enforcement actions that may occur.  The 90 day grace period will only exempt you from 
retaking the course and exam.   For example if you are a design professional certification must be 
current at the time the plan was received for each submittal. 

Re-certification for GSWCC Approved Trainers: 

GSWCC will have a 4 hour continuing education course for all GSWCC Approved Trainers.  The 
courses will cover: 

• Revisions to the course material  
• Overview of the continuing education courses (re-certification)  
• GSWCC program updates  
• Q&A  
• There will not be an exam for either trainer course.  
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At the course, trainers will receive the revised course material and the new GSWCC 4 hour 
continuing education course materials.   Trainers must attend course to receive the revised 
course material and GSWCC 4 hour continuing education course material.  Please note the one 
year re-certification rule does not apply to approved trainers.  

 

Continuing Education Units (CEUs) and PDHs 

The three main certification courses, IA, IB and II qualify for CEUs and PDHs as follows: 
• IA Fundamentals - .7 CEUs or 7 PDHs 
• IB Advanced Fundamentals – 1.5 CEUs or 15 PDHs 
• II Introduction to Design – 1.5 CEUs or 15 PDHs 
 

CEUs and PDHs must be issued through an accredited University or other certified institutions.  
Individuals that attend third party courses must contact their Approved Trainer.  GSWCC cannot 
issue CEUs or PDHs to individuals that have attended a third party certification course. 
 
 
GSWCC Certification Accommodation Policy and Procedures for Individuals with Disabilities 

 
The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) defines a person with a disability as: 

1. a person with a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life 
activities, such as caring for oneself, performing manual tasks, walking, seeing, hearing, 
speaking, breathing, learning, working; Or 

2. a person with a record of such an impairment; Or 
3. a person who is regarded as having a disability      (ADA Title III) 

 
GSWCC will provide reasonable accommodations for certification courses and examinations for 
individuals that qualify for coverage under the Americans with Disabilities Act. 
 
To obtain reasonable accommodations for certification courses and examinations, individuals must 
notify GSWCC in writing at least 14 days prior to scheduled course and/or examination.       
 
GSWCC will review all written requests and provide reasonable accommodations on a case-by-
case basis.    
 
Individuals seeking ADA coverage must: 
 

1. Submit a written request to the GSWCC’s Education and Certification Program.    Written 
requests must be signed by the individual seeking coverage or by someone authorized to do 
so on his or her behalf.   Written requests must be received at least 14 days prior to 
scheduled course and or exam.  All requests received after the deadline will be rescheduled 
for the next available course and/ or examination date.  

 
2. Provide appropriate documentation that includes a statement of diagnosis and suggested 

accommodations to validate request for reasonable accommodations.  Documentation must 
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be current and provided by a qualified health professional such as a physician, audiologist, 
psychologist, psychiatrist, or neuropsychologist. 

 
3. Specify the certification course level, date, location and instructor.   For certification 

examinations, depending on the disability, individuals may be required to take the exam at a 
GSWCC regional office. 

 
4. Provide personal contact information.  Once a written request has been received, the 

GSWCC will contact the individual to discuss the request.  Personal contact information must 
include a phone number and email address if one is available.   

  
5. Follow up with the GSWCC’s Education and Certification Program to confirm that your written 

request has been received.  Individuals must contact the Education and Certification 
Program at 706 –542-1840.  Individuals should not assume a request has been received. 

 
6. Written requests may be faxed to 706-542-4242 - Attention: Education and Certification OR 

mailed to:   The Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission 
PO Box 1665 

Athens GA 30603 – 1665 
Attention: Education and Certification 

 
GSWCC will: 
 

1. Review the written request and determine if the individual qualifies for coverage under the 
Americans with Disabilities Act.  If an individual qualifies, GSWCC will provide reasonable 
accommodations for the course and/ or examinations.    Reasonable accommodations may 
include but are not limited to: 

1. Handicap accessible facilities 
2. Oral examinations 
3. Extended time limits for examinations 
4. Course material and examination in large print 
5. Qualified interpreter at course 
6. Separate examination rooms 

 
2. Contact and assist the individual with the reasonable accommodation process.  
3. Handle all oral exams and time extensions for exams. 
4. Maintain records of interactions with the individual related to the administration of 

accommodations.  All requests will remain confidential and be used in accordance with the 
American with Disabilities Act. 

 
GSWCC Approved Trainers will: 
 

1. Review the written request and determine if the individual qualifies for coverage under the 
Americans with Disabilities Act.  If an individual qualifies, GSWCC will provide reasonable 
accommodations for the course and/ or examinations.    Reasonable accommodations may 
include but are not limited to: 

1. Handicap accessible facilities 
2. Course material and examination in large print 
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3. Qualified interpreter at course 
2. Contact and assist the individual with the reasonable accommodation process.  
3. Instruct individual to notify GSWCC to schedule special exam accommodations if 

necessary. 
 
 
 
GSWCC Examination Accommodation Procedures for Illiteracy  
 
GSWCC will offer oral examinations to individuals with literacy issues.  All oral examinations must 
be administered by a GSWCC employee at a GSWCC regional office.  Individuals seeking oral 
examinations must submit a written request to the GSWCC’s Education and Certification Program.    
Written requests must: 

 be sent by the individual or the individual’s direct supervisor   
 be signed by supervisor and the individual seeking the accommodation. 
 state the reason for the request and what accommodations they are seeking.   

 
Request must be sent to: 

The Education and Certification Program 
PO Box 1665 

Athens GA 30603 -1665 
Attention: Administrative Director for Certification 

 
Individuals must follow up with the Administrative Director for Certification at 706-542-1840 to 
confirm that their written request has been received and schedule a date and location for the exam.   
Individuals should not assume a request has been received.    
 
Individuals must register for and attend a certification course sponsored by GSWCC or a third party 
trainer.   At the end of the course the individuals must obtain a Proof of Attendance Form from the 
proctor or trainer.  The Proof of Attendance form must be presented to the GSWCC employee at the 
time of the examination along with a government issued photo ID.  
 
 
Examination Procedures for Oral Exams 
 

1. The certification exam will be administered in a private room with a GSWCC approved 
proctor.  A Proof of Attendance Form and a photo ID must be presented to the proctor.  

 
2. The approved proctor will assist the attendee in completing the application and answer sheet.  

The proctor will read the examination rules and ask the attendee to sign both the application 
and exam booklet. 

 
3. The examination will have a 2 hour time limit.  Once the attendee has completed the exam, 

he/she may leave. 
 

4. The proctor will read the exam questions and answer choices aloud.  The proctor will then 
mark the attendee’s response on the exam booklet and answer sheet. 

 
5. The attendee may not use a course notebook to take the exam. 
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6. The proctor may not assist the attendee with the exam content; this includes but is not limited 

to:  
o Explaining the exam questions or course notebook material 
o Looking up answers in the course notebook 
o Reading sections of the course notebook to the attendee 
o Comment on the attendee’s answer selection 

 
7. The approved proctor will send the application and exam to the GSWCC’s Education and 

Certification Program to be reviewed and scored. The approved proctor must use 
UPS/FedEx, when sending the back the exams. 

 
8. Once the application has been reviewed and the exam scored, the attendee will be notified of 

the exam results.  If a passing score of 70% or higher was achieved, a certification card will 
be sent to the individual within 60 days.  If a passing score was not achieved, the individual 
may schedule another oral exam.  If the individual fails the exam twice, they must register for 
and attend another certification course before scheduling another oral exam. 


