McDuffie County Soil and Water Conservation District

Annual Report FY 2013

The supervisors of the McDuffie County Soil and Water Conservation District met a total of 11 times during the fiscal year. Carol Burton served as Chairman, Fred Vergeer served as Vice-Chairman, George Reeves served as Treasurer, and Don Palmer served as Chaplin.

The District held their Annual Meeting 10/11/12 at the Senior Center building in Thomson, GA. The supervisors and guests enjoyed a catered meal and approximately 35 people attended. Michael Hattaway was awarded Farm Family of the Year.

The District reviewed and ratified 13 erosion sedimentation and pollution control plans.

The District sponsored the Cattlemen's Association.

The District planted approximately 562 acres in no-till in 2012.

The District sponsored a student to attend the Natural Resource Conservation Workshop in Tifton.

Assisting the District in 2012-2013

Robert Amos - Regional Representative State Soil and Water Conservation Commission

Andrew Dyar – Resource Specialist State Soil and Water Conservation Commission

Gail Hull – Administrative Director State Soil and Water Conservation Commission

Cread Brown – District Conservationist Natural Resources Conservation Service

Ervin Hart – Soil Conservation Technician Natural Resources Conservation Service

Jimmy Harris – Area 2 Plan Reviewer Natural Resources Conservation Service

> Joe Riley – RC&D Coordinator Central Savannah River RC&D

Frank Watson – County Agent Extension Service

> Pat Ray – FSA Farm Service Agency