## STATE SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION COMMISSION MEETING Tuesday, December 13, 2016 11:00 a.m. Athens, GA Action Items

- 1. Call to order Garland Thompson, Chairman
- 2. Invocation Mitch Attaway, Executive Director
- 3. Approve Minutes of October 4, 2016 Board Meeting, as previously provided -

Approved (see attached)

- 4. Act on Supervisor Appointments & Resignations Approved (see attached)
- 5. Executive Director's Report Mitch Attaway
  - a) Personnel Report
  - b) Financial Update
  - c) Per Diem for GACD Annual Meeting (see attached)
- 6. E&SC Ben Ruzowicz
- 7. GACD Update Dan Bennett/ Woody Snell
- 8. NCRS Update Terrance Rudolph
- 9. Public Comments
- 10. Next Board Meeting: Friday, February 10, 2017
- 11. Upcoming Dates: GACD Annual Meeting (February 9-12, 2017)

## DRAFT GEORGIA SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION COMMISSION MINUTES Athens, GA December 12, 2016

Participating were Chairman Garland Thompson and Board members Drew Echols, Bob Martin, and Jason Winters. Participating from the Commission were Executive Director Mitch Attaway, Urban Program Manager Ben Ruzowicz, Regional Representatives Robert Amos and John Loughridge, Procurement and Services Officer Karen Parson, and Personnel Representative Andy Pope. Also in attendance was Senator Frank Ginn, Alex Bradford from Georgia Farm Bureau, Terrance Rudolph and Tansel Hudson from NRCS, GACD President Dan Bennett and Vice President Woody Snell, and American Excelsior representative Randy Matheny. Chairman Thompson called the meeting to order and asked Executive Director Attaway to give an invocation.

The Board called for discussion on past meeting minutes. On a motion by Bob Martin and second by Drew Echols, the board unanimously approved the October 4, 2016 board meeting minutes as provided.

At this point the board moved to item #4 on the agenda for supervisor appointments and current vacancies, and Mitch Attaway reported one supervisor resignation, approved on a motion by Drew Echols and a second by Bob Martin. A motion by Jason Winters and a second by Drew Echols approved the appointments of 18 supervisors in 10 districts.

The Board next called on Mr. Attaway to give the Executive Director's report; he began with the Personnel Report of one new hire and three resignations. He then spoke briefly on the financial report and states GSWCC is on track for FY17. Lastly he proposed a reconsideration of per diem for supervisors attending the annual meeting, and a motion was made by Bob Martin and seconded by Drew Echols to keep per diem as-is.

Next on the agenda, Ben Ruzowicz announced the discontinuation of Spanish-language E&SC certification courses, and that there were no proposed changes to the E&SC manual. A motion to keep the manual unchanged was made by Drew Echols and seconded by Bob Martin.

There was a brief update from Dan Bennett and Woody Snell, representing GACD, and also Terrance Rudolph and Tansel Hudson of NCRS. Mr. Attaway then discussed the transfer of the One GA agricultural metering program and its seven staff members to EPD.

The floor was then opened for public comment, at which point Alex Bradford of the Georgia Farm Bureau addressed the One GA program's transfer and Senator Frank Ginn proposed an examination of category 2 watershed dams. Board Chairman Garland Thompson announced his retirement, and that his last board meeting will be in February, before the meeting was adjourned.

The next board meeting will be held at Lake Lanier Islands on Friday February 10<sup>th</sup>.

Respectfully submitted by: Andy Pope

Approved by:

GSWCC Chairman Date

## NOMINEES FOR THE POSITION OF DISTRICT SUPERVISOR TO BE APPOINTED BY GEORGIA SOIL and WATER CONSERVATION COMMISSION

REGION	DISTRICT	COUNTY	NAME	CITY	Attendance%	FUTURE TERM WILL EXPIRE
	Blue Ridge Mountain	Fannin	1. Damon Davenport	Morganton	100%	12/13/18
	Dido tildgo tiloutituti		2. Kelly Franklin			
			3. Anthony Holloway			
			······································			
	Catoosa County	Catoosa	1. J. M. Plemons	Ringgold	100%	12/13/18
			2. Jeremy Wynne			
			3. Samuel Ward			
				01.1.1	400%	40/42/40
	Catoosa County	Catoosa	1. Majorie J. Berry	Chickamauga	100%	12/13/18
			2. Larry Wells 3. Kevin Sims			
	Fulton County	Fulton	1. Jonathan Cory Rayburn	Roswell	64%	12/13/18
			2, Sally I. Mills			
			3. James R. Hamilton			
	Roosevelt	Meriwether	1. Glen J. Gosa	Manchester	91%	12/13/18
			2. Jay P. Harman, Jr.			
			3. Roy Tollerson, Jr.			
					0.494	10140/40
	Roosevelt	Troup	1. Julian Morris Jones, III	LaGrange	91%	12/13/18
			2. Henry R. Jones		<u>_</u>	
			3. Joseph Keith			
	West Georgia	Heard	1. Denney H. Rogers	Ephesus	100%	12/13/18
	west Georgia	nearu	2. Benjamin Hyatt	Lphesus	10070	12/10/10
			3. Alvin Ginn			
	West Georgia	Coweta	1. Matthew Burns, Jr.	Newnan	*50%	12/13/18
			2. Ned Chambliss			
			3. Sam Bowers			
VI						
	Warren	Warren	1. Norma Rahn Garner	Warrenton	100%	12/13/18
			2. Dennis Coxwell			
			3. Tyler Johnson			
	······································					+
				energy ( ) energy of output where a solarly provide the solar solar of the solar solar solar solar solar solar s		
	Altamaha	Bacon	1. Charles Tanner	Alma	84%	12/13/18
			2. James Ellis			
			3. Randy Altman			
	Ogeechee River	Bulloch	1. Fred Blitch, Jr.	Statesboro	100%	12/13/18
			2. Raybon Anderson		1	
	<u> </u>	l	3. Lee Cromley Page 1 of 2			

## NOMINEES FOR THE POSITION OF DISTRICT SUPERVISOR TO BE APPOINTED BY GEORGIA SOIL and WATER CONSERVATION COMMISSION

					T
Ogeechee River	Candler	1. David Spaid	Metter	New	12/13/18
		2. Ronnie Flynt			
		3. Randy Durden			
Ohoopee River	Emanuel	1. F. Bennett Whitfield	Twin City	63%	12/13/18
		2. Jerrell Whitfield			
		3. Bill Carmichael			
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·					
 Ohoopee River	Toombs	1. Chris Topkins	Lyons	*25%	12/13/18
		2. Bud Hart			
 		3. Ben Cury			
					<u>†</u> .
Ohoopee River	Treutlen	1. Bill Barrett	Soperton	63%	12/13/18
		2. Gene Bowers			
		3. Kim Thompson			
Satilla River	Atkinson	1. James Cray Grantham	Willacoochee	*50%	12/13/18
		2. Mark Tucker			
 		3. Jim Paulk			
 Satilla River	Ware	1. Daniel Good	Waycross	100%	12/13/18
	wait -	2. Thomas Gill, Jr.	Waycross	100 /0	12/13/10
		3. Bradley Jordan			
 Satilla River	Wayne	1. Jonathan Harris	Screven	70%	12/13/18
		2. Franklin Griffis			
 		3. J. H. Wynn			
			-		
	<u> </u>				
		* Attendance Letter Provided			