

Important Information Regarding General NPDES Permit Nos. GAR100001, GAR 100002 and GAR100003: Electronic Forms for Existing Construction Sites Will be Accepted Until December 15, 2018

<u>WHO?</u>: Existing PERMITTEES who did not file a Notice of Termination of coverage under the 2013 National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) General Permits for Discharges of Stormwater from Construction Activities before August 1, 2018, must Renew their coverage.

WHY?: The Georgia Environmental Protection Division (EPD) reissued General NPDES Permits Nos. GAR100001, GAR100002 and GAR100003 (Permits) on August 1, 2018, authorizing stormwater discharges from construction activities to the waters of the State of Georgia for a period of five years. All existing coverage under the 2013 NPDES permit expired on July 31, 2018. Coverage under the 2018 NPDES permits must be obtained through the mandatory electronic submittal of a renewal Notice of Intent (NOI) through the Georgia EPD Online System (GEOS) for electronic permit applications.

Under the Permits, all projects previously covered by the 2013 NPDES Construction Permit that did not reach final stabilization as defined in the Permit and/or did not file a Notice of Termination (NOT) must renew their NOI for continued coverage under the 2018 permit using this online system. The 90 day grace period to get this accomplished will end on October 30, 2018. However, due to unforeseen circumstances in initiating the new electronic submittal process, EPD will temporarily waive land disturbance fees and Erosion and Sedimentation Control Plan resubmittal for existing construction sites until December 15, 2018. Please continue to use the renewal form option on GEOS to allow for better EPD data tracking. The main EPD webpage for the GEOS system can be found at https://epd.georgia.gov/geos/. guidance concerning Construction Stormwater located Specific here: https://epd.georgia.gov/geos/documents/construction-stormwater-instructions.

CURRENTLY, ALL SITES THAT FAIL TO RENEW COVERAGE BEFORE DECEMBER 15, 2018 WILL HAVE TO APPLY FOR NEW COVERAGE UNDER THE 2018 NPDES PERMIT. THIS WILL REQUIRE THE RESUBMITTAL OF AN UPDATED EROSION AND SEDIMENTATION CONTROL PLAN AND THE REPAYMENT OF LAND DISTURBANCE FEES.

<u>HOW?</u> The following direct links contain videos and guidance documents to assist you in this setup:

-Construction Stormwater Renewal for Migrated Facilities (Paper NOI submitted before September 25, 2017, new RO account creation required).pdf

-GEOS NPDES Stormwater Construction Instructions for setting up GEOS Responsible Official (RO, i.e. Permittee) Account.pdf (If a paper NOI was submitted after September 25, 2017 then an account has already been created for you.)

-GEOS NPDES Construction Stormwater Instructions for setting up GEOS Preparer (site engineer or design professional, consultant, etc.) Account.pdf

GEOS NPDES Stormwater Instructions for Entering a NOI Reissuance, NOI Modification, or Notice of Termination (NOT).pdf

If you do not have any renewals, but do need to file for coverage for a new Facility - <u>Click here</u> for a video tutorial for submitting a new Construction Stormwater Notice of Intent (NOI) for a new facility

Please contact your district office contacts listed below if you have any questions or run into any problems.

GEORGIA EPD DISTRICT OFFICES GEOS CONTACTS FOR CONSTRUCTION STORMWATER

A. For facilities/construction sites located in the following counties: Bibb, Bleckley, Chattahoochee, Crawford, Dooly, Harris, Houston, Jones, Lamar, Macon, Marion, Meriwether, Monroe, Muscogee, Peach, Pike, Pulaski, Schley, Talbot, Taylor, Troup, Twiggs, Upson

Questions can be directed to: Tilden Bembry or Elnora Vinson

West Central District Office

Georgia Environmental Protection Division

2640 Shurling Drive Macon, GA 31211-3576

(478) 751-6612

B. For facilities/construction sites located in the following counties: Burke, Columbia, Emanuel, Glascock, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Laurens, McDuffie, Montgomery, Richmond, Screven, Treutlen, Warren, Washington, Wheeler, Wilkinson

Questions can be directed to: Francie Klopotic or Janice Rachels

East Central District Office

Georgia Environmental Protection Division

3525 Walton Way Extension Augusta, GA 30909-1821

(706) 667-4343

C. For facilities/construction sites located in the following counties: Baldwin, Banks, Barrow, Butts, Clarke, Elbert, Franklin, Greene, Hall, Hancock, Hart, Jackson, Jasper, Lincoln, Madison, Morgan, Newton, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Putnam, Stephens, Taliaferro, Walton, Wilkes

Questions can be directed to: Jessica Jones or Robert Gasper

Northeast District Office

Georgia Environmental Protection Division

745 Gaines School Road Athens, GA 30605-3129

(706) 369-6376

D. For facilities/construction sites located in the following counties: Carroll, Clayton, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Fulton, Gwinnett, Heard, Henry, Rockdale, Spalding

Questions can be directed to: Jessica Gay or Brian Boutelle

Mountain District - Atlanta Satellite Georgia Environmental Protection Division 4244 International Parkway, Suite 114

Atlanta, GA 30354-3906

(404) 362-2671

E. For facilities/construction sites located in the following counties: Bartow, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Cobb, Dade, Dawson, Fannin, Floyd, Forsyth, Gilmer, Gordon, Habersham, Haralson, Lumpkin, Murray, Paulding, Pickens, Polk, Rabun, Towns, Union, Walker, White, Whitfield

Questions can be directed to: Tabitha Shiflett or Kevin Dallmier

Mountain District - Cartersville Office Georgia Environmental Protection Division

P.O. Box 3250

Cartersville, GA 30120-1705

(770) 387-4900

F. For facilities/construction sites located in the following counties: Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Camden, Candler, Charlton, Chatham, Clinch, Coffee, Effingham, Evans, Glynn, Jeff Davis, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Pierce, Tattnall, Toombs, Ware, Wayne

Questions can be directed to: Patricia Banks or Alice Vick

Coastal District - Brunswick Office

Georgia Environmental Protection Division

400 Commerce Center Drive Brunswick, GA 31523-8251

(912) 264-7284

G. For facilities/construction sites located in the following counties: Baker, Ben Hill, Berrien, Brooks, Calhoun, Clay, Colquitt, Cook, Crisp, Decatur, Dodge, Dougherty, Early, Echols, Grady, Irwin, Lanier, Lee, Lowndes, Miller, Mitchell, Quitman, Randolph, Seminole, Stewart, Sumter, Telfair, Terrell, Thomas, Tift, Turner, Webster, Wilcox, Worth

Questions can be directed to: Ethan Bundrick or Tom Fowler

Southwest District Office

Georgia Environmental Protection Division

2024 Newton Road Albany, GA 31701-3576

(229) 430-4144

H. For GEOS account questions or verification issues:

Questions can be directed to: Noel Doharris, IT Specialist

(404) 656-5261

Noel.doharris@dnr.ga.gov or epd_it@dnr.ga.gov

I. For other general questions:

Questions can be directed to: Watershed Protection Branch

Nonpoint Source Unit

Andrea Wahl or Michael Berry

(404) 463-1511