

Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Districts

Georgia's 40 Soil and Water Conservation Districts are led by 370 elected and appointed District Supervisors. Along with Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission state staff, these local community leaders work in voluntary cooperation with private landowners to encourage the conservation of the state's natural resources Aided by the USDA's Natural Resources Conservation Service, this effort ensures productive lands and healthy ecosystems.

What can you do?

- Encourage youth to learn about natural resources conservation
- Support investments to increase the state's water supply
- Commit to reducing pollution and improving the quality of our water

Learn more at http://gaswcc.georgia.gov

Georgia Soil & Water Conservation Activities

Healthy Soil and Clean Water Sustain Your Life

Agricultural Water Meter program includes installation, inspection, and maintenance of meters on agricultural irrigation systems. Data from meters assist farmers and state officials make wise decisions concerning water policy.

Mobile Irrigation Lab assists farmers with in-field irrigation tests to improve the water efficiency of their agricultural water irrigation systems.

Flood Control Watershed Dams program protects lives and properties through the operation and maintenance of 357 dams in Georgia.

Water Quality Improvement projects improve the quality of water in targeted areas by the installation of best management practices in agricultural operations to reduce nonpoint source pollution and reduce the costs to downstream municipal water filtration systems.

Education of Adults and Youth through Field Days for agricultural producers and Soil and Water Conservation District youth events. Participants see demonstrations of best conservation management practices and build an appreciation for the state's natural resources. GSWCC supports youth programs that include Georgia Envirothon and the annual Natural Resources Conservation Workshop.

Erosion Control Education Program certifies professionals to meet Georgia's standards for land-disturbing activities.

Erosion Control Plan Reviews approve urban land development plans to protect water resources in accordance with the Erosion and Sedimentation Act. Provides technical support and oversight to local governments.

Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission



Georgia Association of Conservation District Supervisors





Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission State Board
Phone: (706) 552-4470 Email: gswcc@gaswcc.org http://gaswcc.georgia.gov

Garland Thompson (Chairman) Douglas, Georgia
Dennis T. Brown (Vice Chairman/NACD Representative), Commerce, Georgia
Carl E. Brack, Carrollton, Georgia
David T. Hays, Covington, Georgia
William H. "Hal" Haddock Jr., Damascus, Georgia

GSWCC Executive Staff
Brent Dykes (Executive Director), Athens, Georgia
Email: bdykes@gaswcc.org
Dave Eigenberg (Deputy Executive Director), Dawson, Georgia
Email: deigenberg@gaswcc.org

Georgia Association of Conservation District Supervisors Danny Hogan (President) Central Georgia SWCD Dan Bennett (Vice President) Walton County SWCD Martin McLendon (Secretary-Treasurer) Flint River SWCD

Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Districts

Georgia has 40 soil and water conservation districts and 370 District Supervisors. Some districts include only one county, while other districts include two or more counties. Each county in Georgia is represented by at least two district supervisors, one elected and one appointed. District supervisors are either elected for a four-year term or are appointed to a two-year term.

Alapaha (12 Supervisors) Altamaha (10 Supervisors)

Blue Ridge Mountain (8 Supervisors)

Brier Creek (10 Supervisors)

Broad River (14 Supervisors)

Catoosa County (5 Supervisors)

Central Georgia (14 Supervisors)

Clayton County (5 Supervisors)

Coastal (10 Supervisors)

Cobb County (5 Supervisors)

Columbia County (5 Supervisors)

Coosa River (16 Supervisors)

DeKalb County (5 Supervisors)

Flint River (18 Supervisors)

Fulton County (5 Supervisors)

Gwinnett County (5 Supervisors)

Hall County (5 Supervisors)

Henry County (5 Supervisors)

Lamar County (5 Supervisors)

Limestone Valley (10 Supervisors)

Lincoln County (5 Supervisors)

Lower Chattahoochee River (18 Supervisors)

McDuffie County (5 Supervisors)

Middle South Georgia (18 Supervisors)

Ocmulgee River (18 Supervisors)

Oconee River (8 Supervisors)

Ogeechee River (12 Supervisors)

Ohoopee River (10 Supervisors)

Piedmont (14 Supervisors)

Pine Mountain (10 Supervisors)

Rockdale County (5 Supervisors)

Roosevelt (6 Supervisors)

Satilla River (16 Supervisors)

Stephens County (5 Supervisors)

Towaliga (12 Supervisors)

Upper Chattahoochee River (10 Supervisors)

Upper Ocmulgee River (6 Supervisors)

Walton County (5 Supervisors)

Warren County (5 Supervisors)

West Georgia (10 Supervisors)