## **News Release**

West Georgia Soil and Water Conservation District Mac C. Abercrombie, District Board Chair

Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission Athens, Georgia 30603

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Jan. 2, 2013 Media Contact: Michael Wald Cell: (706) 612-6394 Email: mwald@gaswcc.org

## West Georgia Soil and Water Conservation District awards **Carroll County high school student Tiffany Brown with scholarship**

**ATHENS, Ga.** – The West Georgia Soil and Water Conservation District recently presented Tiffany Brown, a junior at Bowdon High School in Carroll County, with a scholarship in recognition of her scoring the highest on the final exam of all students from the West Georgia SWCD who attended the Natural Resources Conservation Workshop this past summer.

The West Georgia SWCD also awarded Coweta County dairy farmer David Stanford with the Conservationist of the Year Award.

District Chair Mac C. Abercrombie noted that "soil and water conservation are critical to Georgia's development. We must preserve a healthy natural environment so future generations can achieve even greater economic prosperity."

Each year the West Georgia Soil and Water Conservation District honors individuals who demonstrate a commitment to conservation in the district, which includes Carroll, Coweta, Douglas, Haralson and Heard counties.

Soil and Water Conservation Districts were created in 1937 by the Georgia General Assembly to protect the state's soil and water resources following the Dust Bowl of the 1930's. Districts provide a way for citizens to set local resource priorities for state and federal assistance programs.

At the state level, the Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission (GSWCC) supports locally led soil and water conservation districts through education, technical, financial and planning assistance and through program oversight.

Local conservation project funding is provided by the State of Georgia, along with grants from the Georgia Environmental Protection Division, USDA-NRCS and the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service. More information is available at www.gaswcc.org or by calling (706) 552-4470.

###



Brent L. Dykes Executive Director Athens, Georgia

Garland Thompson Chairman Douglas, Georgia Commerce, Georgia Carrollton, Georgia

Dennis T. Brown Vice Chairman

Carl E. Brack Member

William Haddock Jr. Member Damascus, Georgia Covington, Georgia

David T. Hays Member

AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY/AFFIRMATIVE ACTION AGENCY