About Us

The Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission (GSWCC) was formed to protect, conserve and improve the soil and water resources of the State of Georgia. The Commission's goal is to make Georgia a better place for its citizens through the wise use and protection of basic soil and water resources and to achieve practical water quality goals. 

In Georgia there are 159 counties and 40 Soil & Water Conservation Districts. Each county has at least two supervisor representatives on the District Board of Supervisors. Serving as the coordinator and guide to all these efforts is a Commission appointed by Governor Deal and comprised of five supervisors from different regions of the state. The Commission, headquartered in Athens with five regional offices in the State, has a professional staff whose primary duty is to serve and advance the goals of Georgia's Soil and Water Conservation Districts. The regional offices are located in Calhoun, Athens, Milledgeville, Dawson, and Statesboro.

Below in Related Files is the GSWCC's FY2013 Strategic Plan. If you have any questions, please contact the Commission at GSWCC Feedback .