Soil & Water Conservation Districts

Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCDs) were created in 1937 by the Georgia General Assembly to protect the state's soil and water resources following the Dust Bowl of the 1930's.  Districts provide a way for citizens to set local resource priorities for state and federal assistance programs. 

Today, Georgia has 40 SWCDs encompassing all 159 counties. Throughout the state, 370 district supervisors meet and work to conserve, improve and protect Georgia's natural resources.  Each county is represented by at least two district supervisors, one appointed and one elected.  District supervisors are unpaid state officials who work hand-in-hand with the Georgia Soil & Water Conservation Commission and the USDA-Natural Resources Conservation Service.

District Meetings


Georgia Map of the 40 Soil and Water Conservation Districts

Districts hold regular monthly meetings to plan their work and determine local needs for soil and water conservation and resource development.  SWCDs work on a local level to promote statewide conservation goals.

Below are links to district meeting dates by GSWCC Region. If you are not sure which district includes your county, go to Find My Soil & Water Conservation District to see a listing of districts and counties.

Region I Meetings

Region II Meetings

Region III Meetings

Region IV Meetings

Region V Meetings

For more information about your Soil and Water Conservation District, email: [email protected].