Re-certification Requirements - Related Links
NOTICE: Change to the Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission’s Re-certification Requirements
On June 21, 2013, the Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission Board voted to change GSWCC’s 90 Day Grace Period Re-certification Policy.
Under the new policy, individuals will only have to sit for an initial certification course and pass the certification exam once.
Effective July 1, 2013, GSWCC will renew an individual’s certification, even if the individual’s initial certification has expired, once the individual has attended at least four (4) hours of continuing education.
Please be aware that this policy change only pertains to an individual’s certification status. An individual conducting a land disturbing activity with an expired certification is in noncompliance with O.C.G.A.12-7-1 and may be subject to enforcement action.
Change to the Verification of Lawful Presence Requirement
With the passage of Senate Bill 160, US Citizens and Legal Permanent Residents have to submit lawful presence documentation to GSWCC once. Qualified Aliens are still required to submit lawful presence documentation for each certification and re-certification course they attend.
According to State law a certified individual shall be required to attend and participate in at least four hours of approved continuing education courses, as established by the Commission, every three years. (O.C.G.A. 12-7-19)
The Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission (GSWCC) in consultation with the Stakeholder Advisory Board have established the re-certification requirements. Individuals will have the option of attending a GSWCC four hour course or third party approved courses totaling four hours of instruction. There will not be an examination required for re-certification.
GSWCC Continuing Education Courses
GSWCC will offer a four hour continuing education course for Level IA Fundamentals, Level IB Advanced Fundamentals and Level II Introduction to Design.
GSWCC courses will be given by GSWCC and GSWCC approved trainers.
Third Party Approved Continuing Education Courses
GSWCC will allow third parties to develop training courses that may be used to satisfy continuing education requirements. There are procedures that must be followed by continuing education course sponsors in order to obtain approval and credit hours from GSWCC.
All approved courses both GSWCC and third party will be posted on the GSWCC website.
Frequently Asked Questions
When can I become re-certified?
Individuals can begin taking continuing education courses 1 year before their certification expires. Any course or courses taken prior to the 1 year mark will not be accepted.
What if I allow my certification to expire?
Individuals seeking to extend or renew an expired certification, regardless of how long a certification has been expired, must attend at least four (4) hours of continuing education.
Please be aware that this policy change only pertains to an individual’s certification status. If an individual conducts a land disturbing activity with an expired certification, that individual is in noncompliance with O.C.G.A.12-7-1 and may be subject to enforcement action.
How do I find an approved continuing education course?
Individuals may check the GSWCC’s website for a list of approved continuing education courses.
How do I renew my Subcontractor Awareness Certification?
There is no recertification course for Subcontractor Awareness. Individuals must take the 2HR course again.
How will I know if the course I’m registered for has been approved by GSWCC?
All approved continuing education courses are required to print the following statement on all advertisements and references:
(Course Title) meets the criteria for a Level ___________continuing education course for the Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission and is approved for ________ hour(s) of instruction.
Will there be a re-certification exam?
There will be no exam for re-certification. To become re-certified, individuals must attend a course or courses totaling four hours of continuing education.
What if I have multiple certifications?
Individuals must attend four (4) hours of continuing education for every certification they wish to renew. Example: If an individual is a Certified Inspector and Certified Plan Reviewer they would need at to take 4 hours for Level IB and 4 hours for Level II for a total of 8 hours of continuing education.
When will I receive my new certification card?
Individuals with four (4) or more hours will receive a new certification card in the mail approximately one week before the initial certification expires.
Re-certification Requirements - Related Links