Proctor Training

On May 14, 2007, Governor Sonny Perdue signed HB 463 into law, which amended the Georgia Erosion and Sediment Control Act of 1975. HB 463 allows certification exams to be administered by the trainers that instruct certification courses. Approved trainers still have the option of hiring a Conservation Commission approved proctor to administer certification exams.

Proctor Qualifications
  1. Must be at least 18 years of age
  2. Must be a resident of Georgia
  3. Must provide 3 personal references
  4. Must submit a completed Proctor Application and Proctor Affidavit
  5. Must attend an "Approved Proctor Training Session" hosted by the Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission
  6. An individual may not proctor the exam of a:
             -Relative:Spouse, child (including step-children), siblings (including step-siblings), parents (including step-siblings) or any relative, either by blood or marriage, whether living in the employee's household or not.
             -Business Associate: Direct employee or supervisor.
How to Become an Approved Proctor
  • Must register for an "Approved Proctor Training Session" with the Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission.
  • Must complete a Proctor Application. (Please download and complete Proctor Application. You must submit the Proctor Application at the Proctor Training.)
  • The Commission will review the application for compliance and will issue a letter to the individual stating whether they have been approved to serve as a proctor.

If approved by the Commission, the proctor's name and contact information will be added to the "Approved Proctor List" and that will be posted on the Commission's website.

Proctor Responsibilities
  • Test Security- Prior to the examination the proctor must ensure that the exam package is in a secure location and remains unopened until the testing begins.
  • Exam Procedures- The proctor must fully understand and be able to answer questions pertaining to the exam procedures.
  • Use the PowerPoint Presentation developed and provided by the Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission.
  • Ensure that adequate and complete sets of materials have been distributed to all participants.
  • Monitor the testing session from start to finish.
  • Collect an application, completed exam sheet and exam booklet from each participant. The proctor must account for all test materials and sign the Examination Affidavit.
  • Return the completed examination package including all collected materials by mail to the Conservation Commission. The package should be postmarked no later than 48 hours after completion of exam session.
How is a Proctor Scheduled?

An approved instructor must contact an approved proctor and schedule their services for an examination. The approved instructor will be responsible for paying any expenses related to the proctor and the administration of the exam including postage for the return of the exam package. The approved instructor shall notify the Conservation Commission at least 30 days prior to the examination date. The approved instructor will provide the following information to the Conservation Commission:

- Examination date, time and location
- Maximum estimated number in attendance
- Name of scheduled proctor

Proctor Training Dates

Due to HB 463, the Conservation Commission does not offer Approved Proctor Training sessions on the regular basis. If you are interested in becoming an approved proctor please contact the Conservation Commission's Education and Certification Program at 706-542-1840.